“White Owl” by Josh Garrels

For the second morning in a row, I’ve heard this song on the local Christian radio station on my way to work.

It’s by the Christian musician Josh Garrels whose musical style is described as ” a genre-blending mix of folk and hip hop” with “a voice that is sometimes beatific, sometimes brazen. Garrels’ songs explore themes of compassion, hope, longing, and liberation.”

My musical taste is somewhat esoteric, I guess, so to my ears a lot of contemporary Christian music is very bland and samey, merely imitating secular music, rather than rising above it.

For me, though, Josh Garrels’ music soars above a lot of both the secular and Christian music I come across.

Josh has made a new fan in me.

Have listen to White Owl below and form your own opinion.

I also love Slip Away below:

Leave a Reply

