In Pursuit of the Living God: A Guide to Prayer now available in Paperback from Amazon.com

It’s been a while coming, but I’ve finally released my book on Christian prayer  in paperback form.

In Pursuit of the Living God explores what the Bible says about prayer.

In a way, it’s weird that I’ve written this book. I’m not a pastor and I’m not famous. I’m not accomplished or recognized for anything I’ve done in the Christian realm. I don’t even claim to be a great prayer warrior.

So why did I write it?

I drive to work and home an hour each way every week day. I find myself preaching sermons to nobody while I am driving, so after a while of this it came to me that it might be a good idea to write my thoughts down.

First, I started to write a little book about prayer. I thought it would only be, like 15 pages, but it grew into something far bigger than I had anticipated.

Second I started a Blog – the one you’re reading now.

Despite my lack of credentials, I think the book I have written is quite good. I guess I would, though, wouldn’t I?

It has really helped me to understand more about Christian prayer and helped me in my personal prayer life as well, but I still find praying hard. It’s a work in progress.

I do have to warn you, though, if you decide to read it, I gave my early drafts to a group of friends to review, for spelling, grammar checking, etc. Only 3 of them bothered to read any of my drafts. Of those one was my wife, who could only get through half of it. None of the three actually got to the end of the book, they all gave up at about the half way point. So if even my friends can’t read my book, it doesn’t bode well for complete strangers, does it? Perhaps I live in a fool’s paradise, hoping that they couldn’t read it right through because a prophet is not honored in his own hometown.

Not only that, but I tried to get it published with Christian publishers, but none of the ones I tried were interested. They do say that only 2% of manuscripts actually get published, though.

So in the end I decided to self-publish, because I did put a lot of work into it and, in my opinion, it has some really good points to help people to improve their life of prayer.

I really need to get some people to try reading it and post some reviews on my Amazon book web page. So I will be giving away a few copies for free over the next couple of weeks.

The book is also available in eBook format for $5.00 from Amazon, Smashwords, Kobo, Barnes & Noble, the Sony eBookstore, Diesel eBooks and Apple’s iTunes Bookstore.

For me it’s been a really interesting challenge, and it’s built my faith and knowledge of how much God loves us to pray with him and how much he loves to communicate with us.

The two most important things I’ve learned from the process are that we need to chase after God to keep our lives of prayer ‘on the edge’ and that Christian meditation is far more prevalent in the Bible and far more important to prayer than I’d realized.

Amazon.com: In Pursuit of the Living God: A Guide to Prayer (9781469959726): Peter Enseleit: Books.

Leave a Reply

